Wednesday, 19 March 2014

Dutch rider, Mitchel Cornelisse (Wilton CT) have won the 13th GP André Noyelle in the sprint of 10 riders, ahead of duo from Beglium: Charlie Arimont (CT Young) and Brent Briesen (Davo CT).
Here’s the little preview of the race and report: 


 Two weeks after the season opener, Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne, Belgium welcomed the best juniors again with second event of the uci calendar, 13th GP André Noyelle (1.1). 95,7 kilometers race features similar route to the KBK with 8th heiligen during the course through the Region Heuvelland with famous Kemmelberg in the middle of the race. 

Full list of the climbs and profile:

KM 17 - Scherpenberg 
KM 26 - Baneberg
KM 27 - Rodeberg
KM 40 - Kraaiberg
KM 42 - Mesenberg
KM 50 - Kemmelberg
KM 54 - Zavelaar
KM 60 - Kroonaard

Past winners:

1997 Stijn Devolder
1998 Goris Gardeyn
1999: Dirk Bullen
2000 Steven Vanden Bussche
2001 Kristof De Beule
2002 Wim Packet
2003: Gianni Meersman
2004 Nikolas Maes
2005: Ian Stannard
2006: Fabrice Naert
2007: Thomas Chamon
2008: Nicolas Vereecken
2009 Sjors Roosen
2010: Ruben Boons
2011: Daan Myngheer
2012: Maxime Farazijn
2013: André Looij

Race Report

 The race started in the city of Ieper (where the finish was held either) with a lots of attack right after the start.

 After twenty kilometers of the race the break of the day finally went clear. Attack of four riders: Steven Kreder (Willebrord Wil Vooruit), Jordi Warlop (Tieltse Rennersclub), Bram Welten (TWC Pijnenburg) and one of the “juniors to watch in 2014” Emiel Planckaert (Avia Crabbe). After the first climb, Scherpenberg, the leaders had 25” over the big peleton.

 Selective course coued big damages in the group and with 71km to go we had our four leaders 32” ahead of the first group with around 35 riders and 48” on the second group. The second group were left behind even more at the decent of Kemmelberg. In addition, Jordi van Dingen, who was fourth in KBK was left in the second group.

 Numbers of attacks were on during the hills reduced the main group to fourty riders. With 25km to go Brent Briesen (Davo) had 25” lead but later he was joined by two: Bram Welten (TWC Pijnenburg) and Charlie Arimont (Young Cycling Team). With 15km to go the leading three were joined by another goup and we had ten leaders: Welten (TWC Pijnenburg) Dendievel (Wasquehal) Warlop (Tielse Rennersclub) Castrique (Zannata) Arimont (Youth CT), Cornelisse (Wilton CT) Plovie (Avia) Relaes (DMC ) Briesen (Davo) and Boons (Balen BC).

 With just 9km to go the leaders had 34” advantage on peleton with just one lap to go. In the last kilometers the leaders managed to increase the gap a little and Michael Cornelisse have won the sprint ahead of Charlie Arimont and Brent Briesen.

 The main pack finished 44 seconds behind.
Full results:

So who’s Mitchell Cornelisse ? Winning GP André Noyelle wasn’t his first international win in junior category. The year before he managed to win other classic in Belgium, Omloop der Vlaamse Gewesten ahead of Stefen Krul (now in Rabo Dev Team) and Nathan van Hooydonck (Bissel). Pretty big names!

 But that wasn’t his only notable result from 2013. In Tour du Pays de Vaud Mitchell was thir in the prologue but his biggest results of 2013 actually came from track. He’s current national champion in Omnium, Points Race and Madison. With track background Cornelisse is both good sprinter and time trialist but also able to survive the hills and will be interesting to see what else can he achive in road racing.

0 komentarze :

Post a Comment