Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Dutch rider Bram Welten (TWC Pijnenburg) won 10th edition of Guido Reybrouck Classic on Sunday after attack with five kilometers to go. Podium was completed by two Belgians: Merten De Wever (Avia WCup Cycling Team) and young Jasper Philipsen (Kon.Balen B.C VZW).

Final podium: Merten De Wever, Bram Welten & Jasper Philipsen (photo: directvelo)

There were many attacks right from the start including Stijn Goolaerts ((Davo Cycling Team-Tongeren), Arno De Wilde (Zannata-Lotto CT Menen VZW) and Belgian super talent, Jasper Philipsen (Kon.Balen B.C VZW) but after 40 kilometers we had a pretty big peleton at the front.   Arno De Wilde actually was the most aggressive rider of the day as he tried twice later on but after almost eighty kilometers there was no serious breakaway despite numerous attack from the big bunch. Meanwhile riders were dropping at the back and bunch was splitted into several smaller groups.

Bram Welten winning Guido Reybrouck Classic (photo: cyclism'actu)

With 31 km to go crucial attack was made. Three riders: Jasper Philipsen (Kon.Balen B.C VZW), Bram Welten (TWC Pijnenburg) and Merten De Wever (Avia WCup Cycling Team) attacked and right after that two other tried to join: Tibo Nevens (Wielerclub 'Onder Ons' - Parike VZW) & David Dekker (Willebrord Wil Vooruit) but they were caught by a big group. Three leaders managed to extend their gap up to 37 seconds with just 18 km to go. As they represented three strongest teams it was pretty hard for a big group to catch them. With just one lap to go (6km) they extended their gap up to 47 seconds. Bram Welten attacked with 5km to go and two Belgians wasn't able to respond. He quickly gained 20 seconds and managed to keep a small gap right to the end. De Wever was second and Philipsen third while Maxim Bolle was fourth and first from the bigger group behind.

Here's short video review of the race: Video


0 komentarze :

Post a Comment